Running for Local Office

So…I  haven’t posted here in a while. It’s hard to keep up with more than one blog and I’m not doing that well over on the other one! I’ve published a children’s book this spring and I now work part time for a weekly newspaper.

I thought the information about Marco Rubio was important. There’s also some question about his natural born status. I don’t think he meets the definition because his parents came from Cuba and weren’t citizens  when he was born. At least that’s what my investigation has revealed. His attitude toward the immigration debate shows his allegiance is not to our laws, in my opinion.

Anyway, I want to talk about my recent run for election. I’ve noticed that in our country these days, sometimes the law isn’t taken very seriously. This definitely comes from the top post in Washington, D.C. and I believe it filters down into every area. What the top man allows seems to tell others they can do it too.

In my township, we have a man in elected office who doesn’t live in the township. Now, he claims he does, but in actuality, he does not. He has been our township supervisor now for 4 years. He beat out a friend of mine who actually does live in the township and who had served honorably for 16 years. This year he decided to run for trustee. I decided it was time to do something to stop him.  Since I missed a deadline to challenge his nomination, I had to move on to other methods. I have decided that this deadline is actually for the members of his particular party since I, as a member of the opposing party, would have no actual knowledge of his candidacy other than what I might hear through the grapevine. I did not attend their caucus.

Since I missed the deadline that I had no knowledge of, I decided to run against him in particular, as an absentee candidate. This was a way to dislodge him from the office he was seeking. In the event that he would win, the state election board told me that I could ask for a hearing into his residency. I lost the election, and the lawyers for the township refused my request for a hearing, saying my request was “untimely” since I should have opposed his nomination in the time period allowed, even though I couldn’t be sure he was nominated.  It’s all very vague, in a way. So the lawyers denied me a hearing, giving me some legal mumbo jumbo and reminding me of some other requirements for that office that he doesn’t meet.

Let’s just say I must now take the last and perhaps final step. And it’s a very serious step. Why should I do it? Because it’s the right thing to do. Because the only way for evil to triumph is for good men to do nothing. Because “we have a set of freaking laws in this country” as Pat (from the Glenn Beck show) says. I have counsel from the state election board that this is the next step. I have waited for a time, not wanting to cost the taxpayers of my township any financial hardship and needing to make sure they would not be strapped with legal bills. We have poked and prodded the frog, but he does not want to budge. I wonder if the $50 a month he receives will be worth the hassle in the end. Stay tuned.

One thought on “Running for Local Office

  1. Well, I never posted the end of this story…it all ends up very well, I think. This man’s sister was running for a countywide office in our most recent election. He sold his property and went to “properly” live in his own township across the road (where he has actually lived all along). I didn’t have to go to court after all! I think the sister seeking an important office may have had something to do with all this. Oh and btw, she was not elected to that office, and THAT’S important because she played a big part in her brother’s deception and helped him with his scheme. So now she is out of that position and he has lost access to the office. I say YIPPEE!!!

Leave a Reply

