There are Haters out there!

I received a really snarky comment on my art blog the other day. Me. On my blog about art. It’s not the first time, but this one had a particularly hateful tone. She was going to follow my art blog, but after she read my political blog, there was NO WAY she would EVER follow my art blog. Now I will admit to using sarcasm when I write here at Watching the Nation. But I don’t use hate. I actually refuse to be hateful. I really work at putting facts out there, and yes, my opinion about them is in there too. I really want to enter the debate, which is why I started this blog. And debate needs to be fairly unemotional. Just the facts.

But it’s my blog and I have an opinion on our world. And it is a conservative opinion. Everyone else seems to claim the right to speak. So how come I (who would be accused en masse along with all conservatives of being, of all things, a HATER) am being attacked in such a hateful manner? I don’t get it. Except to say this: I’ve been around the block a few times, and here is what I see….those who accuse others of being HATERS are themselves hateful. (And the commenter didn’t actually accuse me of being a hater, but her vehemence against me seemed to leap off the page, so that I could see the accusation coming). Those who so easily judge others (and I am guilty of it too; it is a constant battle) are guilty of the same things they say others do. For me, it is no longer about Republicans vs. Democrats; it is now about Right vs. Wrong.

I responded pleasantly to the commenter, lamenting that I was sorry she felt that way and couldn’t separate my art from my politics. I said it was too bad, and that we probably could have learned things from each other. Indeed. That is what debate is about….in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

